Traveling Interactive Exhibition

Échos

National Film Board of Canada

Montreal, Quebec, Canada, 2012

The NFB’s traveling exhibition Échos, developed in the context of the 2012 world forum on French-speaking countries, consists of 4 iPad stations that are connected to a multifaceted screen. Numerous visitors can thus interact simultaneously with video content that is projected on this screen.  The ensuing real-time fusion of these unique configurations creates a spontaneous bond between the active participants and the spectators.

Description

Beyond the powerful symbolism of this immersive environment, the purely playful aspect of the installation captures the interest of a vast public and gives the event a creative and friendly feel by allowing each participant to leave a personal mark. The video, audio and lighting components are transformed into veritable actors in new ephemeral creations improvised on the spot by visitors-turned-filmmakers for a few moments.

This project is a perfect example of the integration of stage design elements with state-of-the-art technology. The multifaceted screen serves as the support for two different video images produced simultaneously by a single video projector.

The Montreal-based production studio, Département, called on XYZ to oversee the design of this travelling exhibition and to bring it to life.

Expertise

  • Audio
  • Video
  • Lighting
  • Interactivity

Mandate

Project management
Design and technical direction
Set production
Installation

Production

ONF

Design

Département

Installation interactive itinérante

Échos

Office national du film du Canada

Montréal, Québec, Canada, 2012

L’installation itinérante Échos de l’ONF, développé dans le cadre du forum mondial de la francophonie en 2012, est constituée de 4 bornes iPad installées en périphérie d’un écran à 16 facettes. Cette configuration permet à plusieurs visiteurs d’interagir simultanément avec les productions vidéos de 12 cinéastes de partout à travers le monde. Cette fusion spontanée se réalise en temps réel et créé une complicité soudaine entre les artistes et le public.

Description

Au-delà du puissant symbole que cet environnement immersif véhicule, l’aspect purement ludique de l’installation capte l’intérêt d’un large public et donne à l’événement un aspect créatif et convivial. Il permet à chacun de laisser sa trace… La vidéo, l’audio et l’éclairage deviennent de véritables acteurs de nouvelles œuvres éphémères créées à chaque minute par des visiteurs devenus cinéastes l’espace de quelque instant.

Ce projet est un exemple parfait d’intégration d’éléments scénographiques et de technologie de pointe. L’écran à multiple facette devient ici le support pour deux images vidéo différentes produites simultanément par un seul et même projecteur.

Le studio de production montréalais Département a fait appel à XYZ pour encadrer la conception de ce kiosque itinérant et pour en assurer sa réalisation.

Champs d'expertise

  • Audio
  • Vidéo
  • Éclairage
  • Interactivité

Mandat

Gestion de projet
Conception et direction technique
Réalisation scénographique
Installation

Production

ONF

Conception

Département