Multimedia Exhibition

State of Alert

Bagotville Air Defence Museum

Bagotville, Québec, Canada, 2013

The Royal Canadian Air Forces military base in Bagotville is part of NORAD and, as such, is a major strategic element of the Canadian Armed Forces. With the goal of familiarizing tourists and the general population with the history and role of Canadian air defence, the Bagotville Museum called on XYZ to revamp the interpretive experience associated with its collection of fighter planes. The mandate also included giving the Museum boutique a visual signature as well as creating a short film to show in the Museum’s small projection room.

Description

Setting up a multimedia exhibit route in the commemorative park around the museum, XYZ designed an iPad experience that integrates new techniques, including multimedia marker start-up , augmented reality and GPS positioning. Visitors are invited to scan different markers (with the iPad camera) positioned near specific aircraft all along the exhibit. The video clips automatically start up to relay facts about each aircraft or its pilot. Further along, from the top of a 10-metre lookout, visitors point their iPad camera at different aircraft on the ground and additional information for the selected aircraft is superimposed on their screen.

Under the tent, virtual 3D artefacts are presented via the augmented reality experience. A collection of aviator helmets and other objects found on a military base that come to life through the eye of the iPad. These animated 3D elements “magically” come to life, offering the visitor a new and entertaining experience.

Expertise

  • Audio
  • Video
  • Lighting
  • Interactivity
  • Stage design

Mandate

Designer / General contractor
Audiovisual, scenic and lighting design
Project management, Technical management
On site installation
Programming and system tuning

Production

Bagotville Air Defence Museum

Video

Parcours multimédia

État d’alerte

Musée de la défense aérienne de Bagotville

Bagotville, Québec, Canada, 2013

La base militaire de l’armée canadienne située à Bagotville fait partie du NORAD et à ce titre elle est un élément stratégique majeur des Forces armées Canadiennes. Dans le but de familiariser la population et les touristes avec l’histoire et le rôle de la défense aérienne canadienne, le Musée de Bagotville a fait appel à XYZ pour rehausser l’expérience interprétative liée à sa collection d’avions de chasse. Le mandat visait aussi à donner une signature visuelle à la boutique du musée ainsi que la création d’un court métrage présenté dans la petite salle de projection du musée.

Description

Par le biais d’un parcours multimédia dans le parc commémoratif attenant à la base militaire, XYZ a conçu une expérience iPad intégrant des techniques nouvelles soit le démarrage multimédia par marqueur, la réalité augmentée et le positionnement GPS. Les visiteurs sont invités à scanner (avec la caméra du iPad) différents marqueurs positionnés près de certains aéronefs tout au long du parcours. Les capsules qui sont alors automatiquement déclenchées relatent des faits liés à chacun de ces appareils ou de leur pilote. Un peu plus loin, du haut d’un mirador de plus de 10m, les visiteurs pointent leur caméra iPad en direction des différents appareils au sol et des informations additionnelles se superposent pour chacun de ces appareils sur leur écran.

Enfin, sous le chapiteau l’expérience de réalité augmentée atteint un niveau rarement obtenu dans un parcours muséal soit la présentation de différents artefacts virtuels en 3D, entre autre une collection de casques d’aviateurs ainsi que plusieurs éléments d’une base militaire qui prennent vie à travers l’œil du iPad. Ces éléments 3D animés apparaissent comme par magie et offrent aux visiteurs une expérience nouvelle et ludique.

Champs d'expertise

  • Audio
  • Vidéo
  • Éclairage
  • Interactivité
  • Solutions scénographiques

Mandat

Maître d’oeuvre
Conception audiovisuel, scénographie et éclairage
Gestion de projet et direction technique
Installation
Programmation et calibration

Production

Musée de la défense aérienne de Bagotville

Vidéo