Outdoor Display and Speakers

Connected Sports Centres

Claude-Robillard Sports Complex

Montreal, Quebec, Canada, 2016

The Claude-Robillard Sports Complex, located in the Ahuntsic-Cartierville borough in northern Montreal, is a multidisciplinary centre designed for the practice of a variety of indoor and outdoor physical activities, as well as to host sporting events. It was built in 1976 for the Montreal Olympic Games and has undergone major renovations since 2008. The sports centre’s management called on XYZ Cultural Technology to upgrade the outdoor stadium’s digital display and sound system equipment. This well-attended stadium, with its 400-metre track and natural grass soccer field, sometimes hosts the Impact, Montreal’s soccer team.

Description

XYZ Cultural Technology installed a permanent outdoor LED screen measuring 5.12 m by 2.88 m with a 10-mm pitch for maximum definition. The screen is connected to a console that can be used to broadcast information such as the time, the weather forecast, the centre’s activities, photo-finishes as well as race results. Display maintenance is simplified by access through the front. The display is weather resistant and stands up to harsh Montreal winters.

XYZ also supplied and installed two portable speaker systems and two permanent speaker systems that broadcast sound to the stadium’s main stands. At 3.74 m high by 20 cm wide, the permanent speaker systems are powerful but discreet and blend in seamlessly with the surroundings. The signal’s coverage is impressive, creating a homogeneous, clear sound over the stands. The signal can be precisely oriented so as to avoid noise pollution beyond the stadium or on the playing field. The athletes can therefore stay focused while the spectators stay informed up to the minute. The permanent speakers are built for four-season outdoor use.

Expertise

  • Video
  • Control systems

Mandate

Contractor
Equipment
Installation
Calibration and programing

Production

Ville de Montréal

Tableau d’affichage et haut-parleurs extérieurs

Installations sportives connectées

Complexe sportif Claude-Robillard

Montréal, Québec, Canada, 2016

Situé dans l’arrondissement d’Ahuntsic-Cartierville, au nord de Montréal, le complexe sportif Claude-Robillard est un centre multidisciplinaire conçu autant pour la pratique d’activités physiques intérieures et extérieures que pour la tenue d’événements sportifs. Construit en 1976 pour les Jeux Olympique de Montréal, le complexe et ses installations extérieures ont subi d’importantes rénovations depuis 2008. Les administrateurs du centre sportif ont fait appel à l’expertise d’XYZ Technologie Culturelle pour actualiser l’équipement d’affichage numérique et de sonorisation de son stade extérieur. Ce stade très fréquenté est équipé d’une piste d’athlétisme de 400 m et d’un terrain de soccer à surface naturelle où joue parfois l’équipe montréalaise l’Impact.

Description

XYZ Technologie Culturelle a installé un écran LED extérieur permanent de 5,12 mètres par 2,88 mètres ayant une résolution de 10 mm pour un maximum de définition. L’écran est connecté à une console qui permet de diffuser des informations telles que l’heure, la météo, les activités du centre, les photos-finish ainsi que les temps de courses. Le service de l’écran se fait par l’avant, ce qui facilite sa maintenance. L’écran est résistant aux intempéries ainsi qu’aux rigoureux hivers montréalais.

XYZ a également fourni et installé deux haut-parleurs mobiles ainsi que deux haut-parleurs permanents qui servent à la sonorisation des gradins principaux du stade. Mesurant 3,74 mètres de hauteur pour une largeur de 20 cm, les haut-parleurs permanents sont puissants mais discrets et ils s’intègrent parfaitement à leur environnement. Les faisceaux des haut-parleurs ont une couverture impressionnante, qui permet une clarté sonore homogène sur l’ensemble des gradins. Ces faisceaux peuvent être dirigés avec précision, afin de ne pas causer de pollution sonore à l’extérieur du stade ou sur le terrain. Les athlètes peuvent donc rester concentrés alors que les spectateurs ne ratent aucune information. Les haut-parleurs permanents sont conçus pour une utilisation extérieure quatre-saisons.

Champs d'expertise

  • Vidéo
  • Systèmes de contrôle

Mandat

Maître d’œuvre
Fourniture d’équipements
Intégration
Calibration et programmation

Production

Ville de Montréal