Historical Architectural Projection

The Saga

San Fernando Cathedral

San Antonio, Texas, USA, 2014

At the heart of San Antonio, the San Fernando Cathedral is home to the remains of the legendary Davy Crockett. Xavier de Richemont, the renowned video painter, decided to display the region’s mythical history on the outer walls of this historic building. He covered the cathedral’s entire 700 square meter facade with huge projections that vividly highlight key events in this great show, The Saga.

Description

The Saga required a state-of-the-art audio system supplying maximum power and impressive reproduction quality. This complements the mega projection, concealed in two 2.228 m high by 0.197 m long cabinets. These small, powerful high-end speaker cabinets include configuration tools that allow coverage angles to be adjusted for perfect spatial distribution.

All the control and reproduction equipment is installed in public spaces and is protected within climate-controlled vandal-proof enclosures. The entire system is completely automated. It is launched, with no human intervention, at specific times on weekends, creating a spectacular environment that immerses the audience in history on a vast scale.

Expertise

  • Audio
  • Video
  • Control systems

Mandate

Project management
Technical direction
Technical design
Programming and calibration
Installation
Equipment

Production

Main Plaza

Design

Xavier de Richemont

Projection architecturale historique

The Saga

Cathédrale San Fernando

San Antonio, Texas, USA, 2014

Au cœur de la ville de San Antonio, au Texas, la cathédrale San Fernando abrite la dépouille du légendaire Davy Crockett. C’est sur la façade de ce bâtiment historique que l’artiste Xavier de Richemont a décidé de transposer l’histoire mythique de la région. Par d’immenses projections qui animent entièrement la devanture de l’édifice (environ 700m2), le célèbre peintre vidéo met en lumière de façon spectaculaire les points culminants de cette grande saga. L’artiste a fait appel à notre expertise afin de doter son œuvre des meilleures technologies vidéo et audio.

Description

The Saga donne vie à la cathédrale San Fernando grâce à une méga projection extérieure accompagnée d’une trame sonore. Il fallait donc un système audio de pointe, offrant une puissance maximale et une qualité de reproduction impressionnante dans un format minimal. Nous avons installé deux cabinets de 2.228m H X 0.197m L. Les enceintes haut de gamme offrent des outils de configuration permettant l’ajustement des angles de couverture pour une répartition parfaite dans l’espace.

Les appareils de contrôle et de reproduction sont installés à même les espaces publics. Ils sont protégés par des cabinets à environnements contrôlés, à l’épreuve des vandales. Tout le système est complètement autonome. Il se déploie sans aucune intervention humaine durant le week-end, à des heures bien précises, créant un environnement spectaculaire et plongeant ainsi l’assistance dans une expérience immersive à grande échelle.

Champs d'expertise

  • Audio
  • Vidéo
  • Systèmes de contrôle

Mandat

Gestion de projet
Conception et direction technique
Installation
Programmation | Calibration
Fourniture d'équipements

Production

Main Plaza

Conception

Xavier de Richemont